HMO licence fees by council — the 20 biggest HMO councils compared
All 20 council fees last checked 2026-10-12
Mandatory HMO licence fees are set by each council and the published comparisons go stale fast. This table covers the 20 English councils with the most HMOs (ranked on the official Local Authority Housing Statistics 2024/25 return) and every fee links to the exact source — the council's own page or PDF where readable, otherwise a dated aggregator read of the council page — with the date it was checked.
For a baseline 5-bed / 5-letting HMO (new licence): fees range from £900 (Leicester) to £2,639.10 (Greenwich) across these 20 councils; median £1,400. Each council page shows the renewal fee, discounts and how the fee is banded.
A licence is required for a large HMO: rented to 5+ people forming more than 1 household, sharing toilet/bathroom/kitchen, at least 1 tenant paying rent. Licence valid max 5 years; separate licence per HMO. (GOV.UK, checked 2026-10-12)
Fee comparison table
| # | Council | Region | New licence (5-bed baseline) | Renewal | Fee basis | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Leeds | Yorkshire and The Humber | £975 | £975 | flat | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 2 | Liverpool | North West | £1,328 | £1,328 | per-room (banded by units of accommodation) | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 3 | Bristol | South West | £1,886 | £1,564 | two-part | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 4 | Birmingham | West Midlands | £1,125 | £1,125 | two-part (banded by occupants) | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 5 | Sheffield | Yorkshire and The Humber | £1,185 | £1,135 | two-part (banded by licensable bedrooms) | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 6 | Leicester | East Midlands | £900 | Not stated | flat | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 7 | Newham | London | £1,400 | £1,400 | banded by number of lettings | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 8 | Tower Hamlets | London | £977 | £977 | flat | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 9 | Ealing | London | £1,500 | Not stated | two-part (banded by bedrooms) | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 10 | Kensington and Chelsea | London | £1,493 | Not stated | two-part + per-room above 5 | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 11 | Camden | London | £1,531 | £1,531 | two-part (flat totals) | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 12 | Coventry | West Midlands | £1,571 | £937 | two-stage (banded by licence length) | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 13 | Nottingham | East Midlands | £1,553 | Not stated | two-part (accreditation tiers) | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 14 | Hackney | London | £1,400 | £1,400 | two-part (flat total) | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 15 | Haringey | London | £1,360 | £1,360 | two-part + per-unit surcharge above 5 | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 16 | Lewisham | London | £2,500 | £2,500 | per lettable unit (two-part) | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 17 | Southampton | South East | £953 | £953 | two-stage (timeliness tiers) | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 18 | Portsmouth | South East | £1,257 | £1,191 | per-bedroom formula above 5 rooms | 2026-10-12 · Aggregator read |
| 19 | Hounslow | London | £1,608 | £1,608 | base fee + per-household fee | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
| 20 | Greenwich | London | £2,639.10 | £2,639.10 | per letting (tiered) | 2026-10-12 · Council page/PDF |
How this table is built and re-checked
Sources
- https://landlordtaxlab.co.uk/hmo-licence-fees-by-council (checked 2026-10-12) — Aggregator; reads fees from councils' own pages dated 2026-09-05; used as second-hand source where council page was unreadable directly.
- https://landlordtaxlab.co.uk/hmo-licensing-by-council (checked 2026-10-12) — LAHS 2024/25 (MHCLG) estimated HMOs per council — basis for the top-20 selection.
- https://www.gov.uk/find-licences/house-in-multiple-occupation-licence (checked 2026-10-12) — National mandatory-licence rule and 5-year maximum.
- https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/download/downloads/id/24981/hmo_fees_2022_to_2023.pdf (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://www.sheffield.gov.uk/sites/default/files/2024-06/fee-charging-structure-policy-for-the-licensing-houses-multiple-occupation.pdf (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://www.ealing.gov.uk/download/downloads/id/20113/schedule_of_fees_and_charges.pdf (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://www.rbkc.gov.uk/housing/information-homeowners-private-rented-tenants-and-landlords/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo/licence-fees (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://lewisham.gov.uk/myservices/housing/landlords/hmo/licensing-fees-for-houses-in-multiple-occupation--hmos (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://www.southampton.gov.uk/housing/landlords/houses-in-multiple-occupation-hmo/licence-fees (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://www.hounslow.gov.uk/houses-multiple-occupation/hmo-licensing/2 (checked 2026-10-12)
- https://www.royalgreenwich.gov.uk/housing/letting-out-your-property/apply-private-rented-property-licence/how-much-property-licence (checked 2026-10-12)